top of page

Doris Larkin McAdams Memorial Scholarship

PastedGraphic-1 (1).png

Doris L. McAdams was a member of Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter for 53 years. She embraced and exemplified the ideals of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. A Life Member of the Sorority, she was named Beta Zeta Zeta’s Woman of the Year in 1977 and again in 2008. Her professional training and entire career was focused on education. She was a teacher, librarian, and later an administrator in the Cincinnati Public Schools system and thus helped to shape the lives of many young people, first in Raleigh, North Carolina and later here in Cincinnati, Ohio. To honor her service to Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter and her commitment to education, the chapter awards a scholarship in her name to a graduating female high school senior annually. 



  • Be an African American female senior, graduating from a high school in the Greater

Cincinnati area

  • Plan to attend an accredited 4-year college or university in the Fall 2024

  • Have a minimum GPA of 2.5 or better on a 4.0 scale or equivalent

  • Complete an online application (scholarship tab) at

  • Submit an official sealed transcript via the U.S. Mail

  • Have submitted (2) letters of recommendation on official letterhead, 1. from a teacher or guidance counselor AND 2. from a faith or community leader, employer or comparable person, attesting to your leadership and community service experience.



Recommendations may be submitted online or mailed and dated or postmarked by January 6, 2024.

Only transcripts via a sealed envelope that are representative of each high school attended are acceptable. The mailing address for transcripts or other documents:

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter

P.O. Box 8284
Cincinnati, OH 45208

Recommendations may be mailed or submitted electronically to .

The award recipient will receive notification via email and U.S. Mail, no later than April 1, 2024. Recipients or their representatives are expected to participate in an official public presentation of the scholarship, on Saturday, June 8, 2024. Recipients must also submit a current photograph and photo release.


1. Review and complete all application requirements.
2. Complete the entire application. If a field is not applicable, indicate using the capital letters ‘NA’. 
3. Provide the most informative answers possible. For example, instead of simply writing ‘member’ of the Girl Scouts, include that you served as a ‘troop leader’s assistant’ or that you received special recognition for service or attendance. 
4. Make sure your name is on all documents.

5. Your written statement will be judged on content and grammar.  Please proofread and spell-check your work. 
6. Submit all requested information by the deadline.

Questions?: Email:

Members of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. and their immediate family members
are ineligible to apply. (Immediate family members include a spouse, child,
parent, sister, cousin, niece, grandparent, grandchild, step-parent,

step-child, or step-sister of the member.)

bottom of page