top of page


The ladies of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. always strive to be a community conscious, action-oriented organization rooted in the community for the betterment of its people since its inception. One of Zeta’s national programs is the National Education Foundation which in part serves the purpose to award scholarships to worthy students for the pursuit of higher education. The Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter has been awarding scholarships since the 1940s.

One of Iota Chapter’s first fundraisers was a fashion extravaganza at Hughes High School featuring Marva Louis, wife of boxing champion Joe Louis.  Funds from this 1937 event were used to establish a scholarship fund.  Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter has continued the tradition of awarding scholarships since that time, awarding them to over 100 high school graduates, during the Sorority’s Finer Womanhood months.  In 2018, the chapter established book scholarships for Beta Eta Chapter members that are awarded annually.


The chapter has two scholarships named after Sorors for their contributions to the community and the chapter.  The Wilma E. Lacy scholarship was established in 1998 for non-traditional students.  Mrs. Lacy was a community activist and the first female African American pharmacist in the city.  The Doris L. McAdams was established in 2012.  A noted educator, Mrs. McAdams was a former director, State of Ohio.  Both scholarships are awarded through the Beta Zeta Zeta Education Foundation, Inc.

Doris Larkin McAdams Memorial Scholarship


In an effort to honor the Sorority’s principles and to align Beta Zeta Zeta’s chapter goals with the national programs the Doris Larkin McAdams’ Scholarship was created, in 2012.

Doris Larkin McAdams was a dedicated member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. and specifically the graduate chapter of Beta Zeta Zeta. In addition to her Sorority work, her professional training and lifelong career was focused on education. To honor her service to the Beta Zeta Zeta Chapter and lifelong commitment to education, each spring the Chapter awards a $1,000 scholarship to a graduating female high school senior.

Click Here to learn more about the Doris Larkin McAdams Memorial Scholarship and to apply for the 2023 Scholarship.

Wilma E. Lacy Memorial Scholarship


The chapter created the Wilma E. Lacy Memorial Scholarship to celebrate and honor the life and works of Sister Lacy.  Wilma E. Lacy was a well-known community activist and one of Cincinnati’s first female African-American pharmacists.


Ms. Lacy committed herself to utilizing her skills and talents to improve the community and assist those who were yet to blossom, striving to help them reach their fullest potential. A $1,000 scholarship for non-traditional undergraduate students has been created in Sister Lacy’s honor.

Click Here to learn more about the Wilma E. Lacy Memorial Scholarship and to apply for the 2023 Scholarship.

bottom of page